Pakistan Senate Election March 2021

Pakistan Senate Election March 2021

Senate election takes place after each three years Article 59 of the Constitution of Pakistan.

Senate election Pakistan was held on 12th March 2021. Election Commission of Pakistan has announced senate election schedule on 11th February 2021.

This senate election was held as 52 out of 104 senators has retired from their tenure, On replacement of 52 senators election was to held on 12th March 2021.
As per proceeding of the election, Chairman and dy Chairman were to be selected on the position.

For the position of Chairman of senate Two candidates were from Opposition party Pakistan Peoples Party Parlimentarian (PPPP) and Ruling Party Pakistan Tehrik e Insaf (PTI).

PPPP candidate (Senator Yousuf Raza Gilani) was nominated and supported by Pakistan Democratic movement(PDM). As PDM is join venture of PPPP, PMLN, JUI and 8 more political parties so all these parties have supported Yousuf Raza Gilani.

1 Senator was from Jamat e Islami , who has not casted vote for any of party candidate and he remained neutral in senate election 2021.

Senate Election Result: Pakistan Senate Election March 2021

Out of 98 votes casted for election , 48 votes were casted for Ruling party candidate Mr Senator Sadiq Sanjrani and 42 votes were casted to Mr Senator Yousuf Raza Gilani where as 7 votes that were casted to Yousuf Raza Gilani but presiding officer Mr Muzaffar Hussain Shah has declared these 7 votes as rejected because these were not stamped ahead to name of candidate.

On Other hand for the position of Vice/Dy Chairman, again the ruling party candidate belonging from FATA has won the seat by gaining 54 votes and on other hand JUI candidate Mr Senator Ghafoor Haidri got 42 votes.

In the result of Senate election , Pakistan Peoples Party Parliamentarian has decided to knock Supreme Cout of Pakistan’s door for the justice of 7 votes that were rejected by Presiding officer Mr Muzaffar Hussain Shah.

For More details about the senate election 2021 please visit Senate official website

Fore more about blog please keep visiting

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *